Road Trip: Day 66-67

Posted: September 30, 2016 by timjollymore in Uncategorized

Dateline: “Big Sur” Duluth, Mn

Yes, I’ve been at Big Sur twice in as many days.

Here’s the story:  In 2002 my ex and I sold the family home in Oakland in our parting of the ways. For about two years – despite my teaching and traveling which kept me occupied – I was feeling owly and out of sorts. Blame it on divorce, which is always hard. No, this was “real estate deprivation,” pure and simple. By 2005, I realized that for the first time in 38 years, I owned no property. I felt loose, at sea, unmoored, and slightly unhinged. Solution? Buy something.

But even then California real estate, even condominiums, were out of reasonable reach for a public school teacher. I watched the condos next door soar from $395,000, to $475,00, to $685,000 in just one year. Out of my league. So, Minnesota beckoned, and Big Sur came into my life.

a-64-4

I’ve never lived there, as I had sometime intended, but every so often, less so in the past few years, I stop in to, as I say, “pretend to work” on the property. This year I trimmed the hedges:

(roll over pictures to see captions)

Today I leave for Minneapolis and great adventures.

Tell it like it is!

