Oscars: the morning after, or “We don’t do ribauld.”

Posted: March 3, 2014 by Jollymore in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Thank God it’s over.

But wasn’t it fun.

I have to admit it was though it goes to show that political correctness and inclusivity go further than absolute merit. For an organization that has to bring forth nine contenders for Best Picture award because it keeps the audience tuned in—why not 16? Oh, college football already does that one—you can expect anything but rigorous honesty. Still, political correctness and inclusivity have a place and, for some like my brother and my girlfriend who tied for the forecaster’s prize (16/24 correct), are readable commodities. What do they tell me on the morning after?

  1. Despite the hype and promotional fortune spent pushing Gravity as a great, well-acted film, it was denied but one of the Big Six (Best picture, actor, actress, director (which it won), and supporting roles). Because of the hype and promotional fortune spent pushing Gravity as a great, well-acted film, it was granted eight “minor” awards – all earned, but who cares? Well, Gravity’s loss in Best Picture category frees me from my vow to boycott George Clooney films. And where was he last night?
  2. Best picture? 12 Years a Slave deserves the award, but the choice—over American Hustle and, especially, The Dallas Buyer’s Club—shows how P.C. and the big I work.  The voting may have easily gone to The Dallas Buyer’s Club but AIDS and sexual identity play less well (as do sexy shysters) than does the plight of Blacks in America, a condition far graver for the numbers and persistence of their difficulties. There is little argument there. So, to remain correct and open, spread the joy around: 12 Years a Slave gets Best Picture and Supporting Actress awards; The Dallas Buyer’s Club gets Best Actor—let M.McC. thank God—and Supporting Actor (a hands down favorite, earned). What about American Hustle? Go to the box office.
  3. P.C. and I., again. How can you give awards to someone whose agoraphobia and arrogance will not let him leave the Big Apple? You cannot. But how can you deny, hands down, the best performance by an actress? You cannot. Cate Blanchett had no real rivals and presented herself as the consummate actress she is.  (Applause).
  4. Now for the screen play, which Ms. Blanchett touted. No doubt Woody Allen wrote it, but am I alone to decry the so obvious, shameful, and deceitful “borrowing” from Tennessee Williams’s A Street Car Named Desire? Do so few Americans read from their literature or pay attention in high school English classes that they do not recognize this unacknowledged literary debt? Does the Academy know the difference between Original Screen Play and Adapted? This is no allusion. This is not just influence. Mr. Allen has taken, and taken liberally, without a word of credit I know of, from an original, iconic work. Now, what do we call that?  No one says a word. I hoped Ms. Blanchett at least would acknowledge her inheritance from Blanche DuBois, but nothing. Well, those who complain about the Genius of 42nd Street have to be classed with the Farrow clan, shrill detractors to the modesty and integrity of an American icon.  Please, at least, when you set San Francisco, do it, not New York. (Apple sauce).

Last word? DeGeneres: let’s have her back again.

Comments
  1. Nicholas Jollymore says:

    Did Picasso give credit to Valazquez or Delacroix? Did Shakespeare credit Boccaccio or Plutarch?

    Like

  2. Maryam says:

    Great observations, Tim:)

    I didn’t think much of Gravity, other than the fact that it was well filmed and realistic in its setting (as far as I know, that is). I don’t think the acting was notice worthy. After the originality of the setting wore out, I found the film rather boring.

    I do think that Botox has become an impediment for great acting.

    I thought Cate Blanchett was hands down the best actress from the films I saw last year. I do agree that the plot was very similar to A Streetcar Named Desire and that Tennessee Williams ought to have been mentioned somewhere.

    Like

  3. Davyd Morris says:

    So I didn’t see “Blue Jasmine.” It’s not fair me to weigh in on that, but when I do, I will have your comment in mind.

    Re: Woody Allen. There was a great article by a friend of his that laid out the case (or lack there of) against him. The whole Soon-Yi affair/marriage may be creepy, but the ancillary charges were refuted and found groundless, BTW. No, I’m not a Woody apologist. I like him, but cringe at the New Yorkers who fawn over him.

    I did do a creditable job in hunting down the nominees, even in a market (Monterey) where some films are hard to find (Dallas Buyers Club left in a nanosecond; thank you Netflix for helping see this important film). Yes, I even saw Nebraska! Loved it, even found the close parallels to my Wyoming relations somewhat scary…

    Like

  4. jkroyce says:

    The Academy Awards is a spectacle and, viewed as such, fun to watch. I loved Nebraska, enjoyed Blue Jasmine (yes, Kate Blanchett was amazing), and I haven’t seen the others. However, as I was watching Blue Jasmine, I had to keep asking myself, where GInger, obviously a minimum wage worker, got the bucks to live in the Mission of San Francisco. My daughter’s less that 1400 square foot condo cost over 1.4 M several years ago. The kind of space Ginger enjoyed would be out of reach for any but the wealthy. Killed the reality for me.

    I’m psyched to see The Dallas Buyer’s Club, American Hustle, and Twelve Years a Slave. Gravity doesn’t call my name. The greatest thing about the Academy Awards is that it motivates me to see movies.

    Thanks for your interesting take.

    Like

Tell it like it is!

